Reviews

5
based on 20 reviews
BW (La Crosse WI)
Great vacation condo

This is a terrific condo with a great view of Lake Superior. The place is exceptionally clean, and is very neat and tidy. Practically anything you would ever need is available in the condo. Barb the owner is prompt, courteous, helpful, and flexible. After one stay you will be hooked and certainly stay again in the future!

How wonderful to hear - thank you! We have a great team of cleaning, maintenance and customer service. We have a high goal and we are so happy we are hitting it. We are so happy to hear you are coming back to help keep this dream alive. Thank you for your business. Blessings, Barb and Bob

replied by the owner (12/8/2018 7:16:47 PM)

Mature couple  |  0  |  stayed in 10/2018

Keith Grundfeldt
Exceptional Condo Overlooking Lake Superior

We had a group of 3 couples that made our annual Corvette road trip and chose to visit the North Shore this year. The condo was spotless, well equipped & exactly as described. The resort was well kept up as well and centrally located on the North Shore, with great access to all the sights and activities. The weather was great during our stay and we enjoyed our coffee on the deck during the morning watching the sun come up. Yes, several of us actually got up that early in the morning to enjoy the view and take a few pictures. While we ate at several of the local restaurants, the one that stood out was the Northwoods Grille in Silver Bay, which is around 3 miles north of Beaver Bay. I would highly recommend staying in Barb's condo if you are thinking about traveling to the North Shore. It doesn't get any better! I

Group  |  0  |  stayed in 6/2018

Salome (Switzerland)
completely relaxing stay

This house was a great place to stay at while exploring the North Shore. The cosy living room with the fire place and the direct view the beautiful lake was the most perfect way to end a day of hiking. Everything was clean and very well maintained. The kitchen is equipped with with everything needed including high quality spices and teas. Booking, check-in and check-out was easy, professional and personal at the same time. Even during our stay, we could always contact the owners if there were any questions. All in all, this made our stay very convenient and completely relaxing. You can tell, the owners put a lot of effort into carfully maintaining this a beautiful and convenient vacation home. They thought of every detail. Thank you again!

Salome, Thank you for your detailed review. It so helps others to know what our valued guests think of our home. We are so tickled all the work we put into our home that our guests love those things. I agree the relaxing on the deck after a long day of hiking or eating dinner out there is so beautiful. I like sitting out there at sunrise with my cup of coffee. Listing to the birds or watching Mr. Eagle who likes to do his morning fly by or perch in our neighbors tree. It was great hosting another guest from Switzerland. I highly recommend people working or studying abroad to visit the North Shore of MN. Such a beautiful place in all seasons. Thank you for your business it helps keep this dream retreat going. We hope to host you again, Blessings Barb & Bob

replied by the owner (6/23/2018 12:15:07 AM)

Group  |  0  |  stayed in 5/2018

Julie Redmond (Richfield, MN )
Rustic luxury

It’s late April. Three weary Gooseberry Fall’s hikers enter Windsong Cottage, unit 607. Our legs are tired, but our souls are invigorated. How can a waterfall mesmerize so? I challenge any certified city slicker not to fall under its spell. And what would a city slicker hope for in far north accommodations? Well, if you’re in New York, you want the Ritz; if you’re on the North Shore you would want Comforta Rustica! And Comforta Rustica is what we got, with some of the Ritz thrown in. Penzey’s spices! Wusthof knives! And every pot, pan and utensil you might need if Wolfgang Puck came along with you! An assortment of Tazo Teas! As soon as we arrived at Windsong 607 we started oohing and aahing. I would think that the vocabulary constabulary might enforce the overusage of Oooh’s and ahhh’s if they were there, although I don’t know what the respectable limit might be. And Ooooh—the view! It couldn’t be better! Literally right on the lake. Being the Birthday girl, I snatched up the master bedroom suite without consulting my two fellow travelers. I always figured a king-sized bed was overkill unless you were a forward for the Lakers. But now I am no longer of that mindset. Oh, the roominess, oh the comfort. The lake waves lulling me to sleep. Heavenly. For me, without a comfortable night’s sleep everything else would be window-dressing. This might have been the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. After two days of hiking (on Sunday we visited Split Rock Lighthouse and hiked some of its trails) it was Shangri-La coming back to this beautifully appointed cottage for rest and relaxation every night. This was my first time traveling beyond Duluth and I was captivated by it. The lodgings added to the charm of it all. There are decorating surprises in every room: A nice variety of art, from photos of Superior and the northern lights, a watercolor print of Split Rock Lighthouse above the gas fireplace, and framed woodcut prints. In one of the bathrooms there is a photo of a crusty sailor (no lakeside cottage would be complete without a photo of a salty boat captain!) and two frames containing rocks and driftwood that I imagine someone had gathered and assembled from the Superior coast. They reminded me of a huge driftwood sculpture that I love made by a native Minnesota artist at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts. It made me feel inspired to collect some rocks and driftwood and make my own mini sculpture. Every touch was tastefully appointed. Rustic luxury. We also loved the ambiance that the fireplace and candles provided. Oh! And the hot tub! On my birthday (April 28th) we were graced with a full (pink) moon. It was quite spectacular the way it reflected on the water. We experienced, not “Moonlight Over Hernandez”, but “Moonlight over Gitche Gumee” (the Ojibwa name for Lake Superior used in Gordan Lightfoot’s song “Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald”). 😊 The love and attention that owners Barb and Bob Daugs have put into making Windsong 607 a comfortable and embracing getaway are palatable. For those on a tight budget the rental cost might be a bit steep for one couple, but with three bedrooms and three baths, the unit can be shared, and the cost ends up being really quite modest. If you are thinking at all about getting away to the North Shore, book your reservation now!

Wow - what a fantastic review. We are just tickled with your beautiful writing. Thank you so much for your time in giving us this detailed review. We are so happy our guests are coming back to review their stay. It so helps others to see who we are from a guest perspective. We look forward to hosting you all again. Thank you for your business. Blessings, Barb and Bob Daugs

replied by the owner (12/8/2018 7:19:17 PM)

Group  |  0  |  stayed in 4/2018

Anne
Wonderful condo

We have used this condo for a family getaway and a girls’ weekend. Loved it both times! Clean, well equipped, and welcoming. We will return.

Anne and friends it was great hosting you all. So great to hear you input. Thank you. We look forward to hosting you all again. Blessings, Barb and Bob

replied by the owner (12/8/2018 7:11:03 PM)

Other  |  0  |  stayed in 1/2018

Patricia J
Beautiful vacation home and location. Wonderful host owners.

This is an excellent location on the north shore. The townhome is beautiful, well decorated and equipped. We made most of our meals there and it worked great. The deck has a beautiful view of the lake! We were on the deck quite a bit. You can easily drive to many of the state parks as well as walk to the Superior Hiking Trail. We were in touch with Barb before the trip. She made sure we had their information in case we had questions or issues and they gave us good advice about site seeing options in the area. She was very thoughtful and friendly as well as professional. We would definitely stay at their place again and highly recommend it!!! I noticed someone else commented on Barb and Bob being courteous and professional. They did this very well in many ways. The communication with us before and during the trip was very nice. The information in the townhome was done amazingly well. There were notes, rules and helpful information sheets available where appropriate. The information was clear and helpful. Even the rules and guidelines were delivered well. The only informational side note we would add is that if you have people that have issues with stairs they will need to stay on the main floor bedroom. We had two older grandmothers with us and they happily, and comfortably shared the bedroom on the main floor. Also the bed in the master bedroom is high. It was fabulously comfortable, but whoever stays in that room needs to be able to climb in and out of it. The view of the lake from the bed is wonderful! Again, we would stay there in the future and highly recommend it!

Thank you for your detailed account Patricia. We were all smiles and pleased you liked our place! Thank you also for such warm compliments on us as hosts. We sincerely desire to be hospitable and professional. Your information side note was fantastic to point out. Our place is a two story and we have a set of stairs to the second floor that would be a problem for some physically challenged people. Also, the Old Hickory Master Bed is the old fashioned high bed. We have a sturdy wooden stool to get into the bed if needed. As you mentioned, the advantage of the high bed is you can lie in bed and see the waves roll in, sun rise and moon rise. My husband is 6 foot and doesn’t need a stool. I am 5’ 2” and need the stool to get into it. I don’t need it to get out of the bed. We do have the other two bedrooms with queen beds that are standard height beds. The one on the main level works out nice if someone was more physically challenged and can’t do stairs. There are 5 steps up to the front porch of our place. After that, the main level and out to the deck are all on one level with no steps. We are definitely not wheel chair accessible due to the front steps into it. We appreciate your review and thank you for taking such great care of our place during your stay. Thank you for your business and we look forward to hosting you again! Blessings to you all till we meet again. Barb and Bob

replied by the owner (12/13/2017 10:56:45 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 12/2017

Karen S (St Paul MN)
Wonderful townhome!

What a wonderful time we had at this beautiful townhome. The beds and bedding were great, there was comfortable seating for all of us, and there was a "superior" view from inside and outside. We are 4 longtime friends who were celebrating our 70th birthdays. When we mentioned this to Barb, she even included a special "surprise" to help us celebrate. We have been staying at various accommodations for many years, and this townhome is by far the nicest place we have ever stayed. Thanks Barb and Bob for everything! We will certainly be back.

The pleasure is all ours! We are so glad you found our place to be the nicest place you have stayed! We are all smiles hearing that. That is our mission - we don't want to be just ordinary. We are glad to hear you liked the beds. I have to say I sleep better at the town home then in our bed at home. We always get a kick out of surprising people on their special day! Especially when 4 ladies celebrating 70 come and you hiked to the top of Oberg! Good for you! We would enjoy hosting you again. Thank you for taking such great care of our place. We again thank you for your business. Blessings to you all until we meet again, Barb and Bob

replied by the owner (12/13/2017 10:50:01 PM)

Group  |  stayed in 7/2015

Di (Shoreview, MN)
Amazing property located on the shore of Lake Superior

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this town-home. Absolutely perfect location, very good restaurants nearby, and a few boutiques that were great shopping. The fresh Lake Superior trout was amazing. The accommodation left nothing to be desired. Fully equipped and more! So comfortable; yet elegantly furnished. Sleeping was a dream from the quality of the mattresses to the linens. The town-home site lists everything you need to know; more than you can do in a 3-day weekend. The North Shore is such a gift. We feel fortunate to have experienced its beauty in such a luxurious environment.

Di - thank you for your time in giving us this wonderful review. We are so excited to hear when guests love our place too. We so enjoy it here and wanted it to be a special experience for others too. We haven't tried the fresh Superior Herring there yet. So now we will have too! Thank you for taking such great care of our place on your stay. We would enjoy hosting your family again. Again, thank you for your business. Blessings to you all till we meet again., Barb and Bob

replied by the owner (12/13/2017 10:49:34 PM)

Group  |  stayed in 7/2015

Nancy R (Mpls, MN)
Stunning views

We spent 3 nights in this lovely, comfortable home. The views are stunning, especially from the master bedroom. We were fortunate to have gorgeous sunrises every morning and a full moon over the water at night. Owners, who are easy to work with, have added a number of amenities one doesn't usually find in a vacation home, including an interesting selection of spices for the gourmet cook, and toiletries in the bathrooms that one might find in a upper end hotel. And for those, who like us, prefer to not drive everywhere, the location is great for walking to several good restaurants in Beaver Bay. We hope to return for a longer stay.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our place. Thank you for your time in giving us a review. Guests reviews have always been a deciding factor for us when we stay at places. We are glad to hear you are coming back and would enjoy hosting you again. Thank you for taking such great care of our place. Also, for pointing out you walked to local dining. We enjoy Lemon Wolf, Northern Lights and Camp 61 and if you want a good pizza order in Jimmy's Pizza of Silver Bay. We just tried them and it was a good pizza. Penzy spices are my favorite and thought why not have them in our vacation home kitchen. Renting our place out helps defray our costs to add those things and also keep upgrading our place so we thank all our guests for their business. We came up right after your stay to put on a deck expansion. So next time you come you can see what we have done. We also added a new Weber gas grill and dining set with seating for six. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to hosting you again! Barb and Bob

replied by the owner (12/13/2017 10:52:06 PM)

Group  |  stayed in 5/2015

Igor (Mpls, MN)
Very professional and courteous owners.

We like Beaver Bay location because it is close to our favorite parks, there is a grocery store nearby and there is a place in town where you can rent equipment for your adventures. In the past we stayed at 4 different properties at Windsong community and this one is probably one of the best vacation homes among them. What make the difference is the personal touch Barb provides: a “thank you” note on the table, detailed instructions book, supplies, quality of towels, furniture, etc. The owners know what they are doing and how to provide a personal and professional service. We loved every moment we spent at this home and hope to come back again and again.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your time in reviewing our place. It really helps other potential guests see what sets us apart. Those were great points on the grocery store - Zups in Silver Bay - it has the best bacon too! Also, Beaver Bay Sports a favorite adventure supply store for ATV, boats, snowmobiles etc... We sincerely appreciate the business of all our guests, family and friends who stay at our place. We are working hard to research how to provide an exceptional stay at our vacation home. It's our goal to have our guests leave "really happy" they chose our place and want to come back. We were excited to read your review and thankful we are headed in the right direction. Our long range goal is to establish a "607 Windsong Family" of repeated guests who stay at our place. Once we have established that, we will be taking our place off the public listing so we can cater to our "607 family" of guests. Why do that? Bob and I would like to create a place where our guests feel like they are part of something. A vacation home not only ours to build memories but a sense of being yours to build memories as well. We would like to be on a first name basis with our guests because it just makes our place more fun getting to really know people. We so appreciate our guests business as this helps defray the expenses of owning our vacation home. We want to keep investing in it to keep it well maintained, well supplied, and replace things when needed to keep this a beyond ordinary experience in a vacation rental. It was our pleasure having you and your family and we would love to have you join our 607 Windsong family! We look forward to hosting you again! Also, thank you for taking such great care of our place. Again, we thank you for your business. Blessings to you and your family until we meet again. Barb and Bob

replied by the owner (12/13/2017 10:51:41 PM)

Family with older children  |  stayed in 5/2015

Loading...
Upps!
You're running a web browser we don't fully support. Please upgrade it for a better experience.
Our site works best with Google Chrome.
How to upgrade the browser